Site Home » Aust. Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT), a federal district in southeastern Australia is the home of Canberra, Australia's capital. It is located 320 km (200 miles) southwest of Sydney, and is completely surrounded by the state of New South Wales. However, Jervis Bay, on Australia's eastern coast, is incorporated into it for administrative purposes.

Canberra was selected for the location of the nation's capital in 1908 as a compromise between rivals Sydney and Melbourne.

War Memorial, CanberraThe ACT offers over 30 wineries, historic townships, and the famous Snowy Mountains. Only 45 minutes drive from the city is Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve which offers walking trails and ranger-guided activities. Camping is possible with fishing and horse riding permitted in designated areas.

A 2 hour scenic drive from Canberra are the Snowy Mountains, where you can seasonally find beautiful alpine flowers, top ski resorts, wild brumbies (wild horses), fishing, trekking, horse riding and much more.

The magnificent rainforest's and valleys of the Fitzroy Falls and Moreton National Park near Moss Vale are also well worth a trip. At the Yarrangobilly Caves there are stunning frozen waterfalls, limestone caves and sparkling fresh underground pools.


On 18 January 2003, bushfires that had been burning in a remote area west of Canberra broke containment lines and engulfed some of Canberra. About 500 homes where destroyed before a change in the weather brought the bushfire under control. The suburb of Duffy was hit hard, with approximately 200 homes destroyed. Four people died and many more were injured.