Central West - New South Wales
Sheep station and shearing shed buildings.

The Central West is also known as Heart of Country, and lies west of the Great Dividing Range to Outback New South Wales, from the Murray River north to the Queensland border.

The Central West is a region of New South Wales. The region is geographically in eastern New South Wales, in the area west of the Blue Mountains, which are west of Sydney.

The Central West includes two cities, Bathurst and Orange; three large towns Cowra, Parkes and Lithgow and other smaller centres which include Oberon, Mudgee, and Forbes, and other small towns and villages such as Cudal, Molong, Grenfell, West Wyalong, Condobolin and Eugowra.

Major population and service centres in the Central West include the cities of Bathurst and Orange and large towns of Cowra and Parkes.

The Central West's east is higher, wetter and hillier and supports orchards, vegetable-growing and pastoralism. The west is flatter and drier and supports grain crops and pastoralism.

The Central West area was originally inhabited by the Wiradjuri people.

The Central West region is traversed by the Great Western Highway, the Mid-Western Highway, the Mitchell Highway, the Newell Highway and the Castlereagh Highway.

New South Wales Travel Blogs

  • A Taste of Orange without Oranges

    A Taste of Orange without Oranges

    The city of Orange sits at the foot of an extinct volcano, and is located in the Central West region of New South Wales, four hour’s drive west of Sydney.

  • Bathurst


    Bathurst is the oldest inland settlement in Australia, often referred to as the Gold Country and home to Mount Panorama racetrack.

Places to Go in New South Wales

Other Things to See in New South Wales